Inspired Haiku: Dew

HAIKU

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

be aware my tears
of unrequited love… dew
contagious… drink not

i clench my hands
prayers offered… begging
my tears forming dew

i give my love
she looks at me… my dearest
your crying… why

my knees give… heart broke
i kneel before her asking…
why do you tell lies

you know she asked
how… i say i love you
yes… but with blank eyes

i beg you please leave
i must cry you out or die
she left… no look back

cried.. drowning in tears
i lay waiting my life done
dreaming…  late… must run

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mick E Talbot 2017/66

Inspired by Freya Writes

4 thoughts on “Inspired Haiku: Dew”

    1. An after thought, the following could, loosely deemed a haibun, so:
      Disrespectful
      I am going to leave a link, however before I do my feelings on the overall modern approach to Japanese style poetry, in one word, “Disrespectful”. In fact, or perhaps I should say that a lot of what is called/referred as Japanese poetry is not. My originally research has been amended on most sites now to conform with the modernists approach, with no reference to what was. The humble haiku is the best example of that, as in there should be no capital letters, proper nouns being the, (polite), exception, no punctuation, the one exception an ellipse, ether …, or –, and of course the syllable count per line. The latter was never a hard and fast rule, but was never abused to the extent it is by some modernist. Then there is the definition of a haiku, originally just about nature, natural as well as human, all out the window now. The saddest thing is because no reference is made to the original concepts new comers are none the wiser, hence the reason for what we see today, haiku, which are senryu, and, but not often, vice a versa. My personal opinion is that anything written in the Japanese style but isn’t should go by the name of, “Micro Pottery”, which, for what ever reason some poets do use, myself included.
      Now why the rant, well it would seem that the English written approach to haibun has also gone by way of the modernist, (anything goes). Traditionally the prose were written in the first person, about the present, non fiction, and the past is only referred to if it affected what’s happening in the present, which of course is generally the case. The haiku should reflect the content of the prose. Consider all of the above as my haibun prose, my haiku

      pressent day account
      reflecting the past… choices
      life as it happens
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      The link: https://www.poetrysoup.com/poetry/forms/h

      Hope it helps, and my haibun too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

