Highlight It – Select All – Villanelle Poem

i thought me… that  road

i would take… i pray to God

He’s made a  mistake

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My tortured heart now knowing, pain, the truth.
Dementia ripping me apart, cupboards filling.
I must learn to walk again, forsooth.

No room to put the frozen food, freezers full.
Family wont believe, I beg them come and see.
My tortured heart now knowing, pain, the truth.

Things she thinks she’s said, but never spoken.
I beg for help, no one wants to listen.
I must learn to walk again, forsooth.

Oft a vacant look, but she stills knows me.
Fear now lives with me, my family cant see what I see.
My tortured heart now knowing, pain, the truth.

Subtle to me, to others unoticed, I’m begging,
Please, look, hear, sixteen pints, milk, wasted.
I must learn to walk again, forsooth.

She is happy, I love her, yet my heart so tortured.
What is the right thing, what must I do?
I think I know, tell her everyday, “Aileen, I love you”!
My tortured heart now knowing, pain, the truth.
I must learn to walk again, forsooth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mick E Talbot

Leave a Reply

