‎Saturday ‎22nd ‎July ‎2017 – 00:09:45 hrs. Villanelle Poem

EARLY MEMORIES

Wales, my mother land, my roots
At 5, I had no choice, we moved.
My first sounds of marching troops

My grandma, her laughing hoots
Grandad, a trawler captain, not proved
Wales, my mother land, my roots

Ran, crossing road, loads of toots
Driver got out, and me pursued
My first sounds of marching troops

Memories, mum packing dads suits
Showing me passports, newly issued.
Wales, my mother land, my roots

Germany, vague memory, war fruits?
73 years, remember thinking, confused
My first sounds of marching troops

73 years still wars, still hate, disputes
Soon learnt, fruits of war, not amused
Wales, my mother land, my roots
My first sounds of marching troops
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
© Mick E Talbot 2017/66

9 thoughts on “‎Saturday ‎22nd ‎July ‎2017 – 00:09:45 hrs. Villanelle Poem”

    1. Thanking you,
      My mothers mother was the only grandparent I knew, Her husband was drowned at sea, whether he was a captain of the trawler I cant say. My dad’s parents were killed during WW I, he was brought up by his sisters. Long and interesting story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

